Posted by: Nicky | September 5, 2008

O what to me the little room

I got out into the garden today. The others didn’t know I was out there, but the side door was ajar so I was able to slip out unnoticed. I needed to get out, to be alone for a little while…get away from it all.

The garden was terribly beautiful. The roses spatter amongst various plants and ferns, impressing a sort of festivity to the scene. It was still dewy from the morning, with tiny droplets of sunlight still caught on the leaves and petals – a shimmering.

I walked barefoot onto the grass, feeling it squish beneath my toes. It felt wonderful – to be out…be on my own…I hopped about gleefully, visiting the different plants, the carefully ordered sections of gardenia and oleander and snapdragon. Their scents cleared me, ordered me, cleansed me. And then I am amongst the trees.

The plants are gone, and so is the light. There is a dampness in here… it lives in the soil. Twigs and broken branches check my arms. My feet sink further into the mud, and it colours my skin, as if I have gotten so deep into the earth that I have taken on its colour. The trunks are thick. They rise up around me – too high.

I am lost, and I can’t remember my way out. I begin to think, but the shadows cover my vision. It is too dark in here – just me and the trees. I think back. I think hard.

One had a lovely face,
And two or three had charm,
But charm and face were in vain
Because the mountain grass
Cannot but keep the form
Where the mountain hare has lain

Leave a Reply

Categories

